## 9<sup>th</sup> VASAB Conference of Ministers responsible for Spatial Planning and Development of the Baltic Sea Region

1/2 June 2023 - Wismar, Germany

### All times CEST

#### 1 June 2023

17.30 – 18.40	Joint kick-off with family photo of VASAB and CBSS ministers	Joint walk to location in the Wismar harbour for presentation by State of Mecklenburg-Vorpommern
19.00 – 21.00	Reception and dinner of VASAB ministers	

#### 2 June 2023

8.30 – 9.00	Registration and coffee	
9.00 – 9.15	Welcome and opening of the conference	Klara Geywitz, Federal Ministry for Housing, Urban Development and Building
9.15 – 9.30	Enrolment in the Golden Book of the city of Wismar	Thomas Beyer, Mayor of the City of Wismar
9.30 – 9.45	Spatial dynamics in the Baltic Sea Region	Wiktor Szydarowski, Director ESPON
	State of art in Maritime Spatial Planning in the Baltic Sea Region	Rüdiger Strempel, Executive Secretary HELCOM
9.45 – 10.00	Splashing Benefits of Rail Baltica: Connecting Rural Areas of the Baltic States to the European Rail Network	Katharina Csillak, Tina Sipkevica, Yahya Habeeb, VASAB Summer School winner team
		<b>Talis Linkaits</b> , former Minister for Transport, Latvia
10.00 – 10.30	The VASAB Vision 2040 – process and content	Kai Böhme, Director Spatial Foresight
		Alda Nikodemusa, Head of VASAB Secretariat

# 9<sup>th</sup> VASAB Conference of Ministers responsible for Spatial Planning and Development of the Baltic Sea Region

	Results and expectations from the VASAB expert conference	Prof. Rainer Danielzyk, Secretary- General ARL, rapporteur and representative of the German National Advisory Group
10.30 – 10.45	Coffee break	
10.45 – 11.30	Statements by the Heads of delegations  Statements by invited organisations	Kristi Grišakov (Estland) Anna Leena Seppälä (Finland) Daiva Matusevičė (Lithuania) Māris Sprindžuks (Latvia) Piotr Żuber (Poland) Anders Şjelvgren (Sweden)  Ignė Stalmokaitė (CBSS) Tomas Mörtsell (CPMR-BSC) Virginijus Sinkevičius (European Commission) Tom Schumacher (EUSBSR) Rüdiger Strempel (HELCOM) Paulina Szewczyk (UBC)
11.30 – 11.35	Adoption of the Wismar declaration	
11.35 – 11.45	Ceremonial passing the baton from Germany to Finland	Forward looking statement by Finland as incoming VASAB chairmanship
11.45 – 11.50	Official Closing	Klara Geywitz, Federal Ministry for Housing, Urban Development and Building
11.50 – 12.00	Family photo	
12.00 – 13.00	Lunch break	
13.00 – 15.00	Departure of delegations	





